skip navigation

National Collegiate Rugby Forms Men’s All Star Regions

By National Collegiate Rugby, 10/04/21, 8:45PM EDT


Press Release

4 October — National Collegiate Rugby (NCR) has formed seven state-based regions that will compete in its January 15-17 All Star tournament.

Referred to as the Shield Challenge, the national tournament features the best NCR rugby players from across the country. The three-day event will be held over Martin Luther King weekend at the Houston Sabercats’ AVEVA Stadium.

Each All Star team will be formed over the next three months and include players from diverse schools and all divisions. In addition to the All Star teams, each region may also form a Rising Stars team that includes emerging all star-calibre players.

The regions and corresponding states appear below. The regional contact names can be found at



New England (2 teams)

Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island


Connecticut, New York, New Jersey


Eastern Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, DC, Virginia


Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Louisiana


North Dakota, South Dakota, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Iowa, Illinois, Missouri, Kansas, Arkansas

Great Lakes

Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, Western Pennsylvania, Kentucky, West Virginia


Arizona, Washington, Oklahoma, Oregon, California, New Mexico, Idaho, Montana, Nebraska, Texas, Utah

This is the first year that the event will be held in January. The event has been moved to January to better align with the completion of the Fall 15s season. The All Star tournament is expected to draw MLR and national team scouts.

Jeremy Treece, NCR CEO stated, “The All Star Shield Challenge is one of NCR’s flagship events. It’s a rare opportunity to see some of the best and emerging college rugby players test themselves in a highly competitive environment.”

The women’s All Star 7s tournament will also be held in early 2022. NCR will release a formal announcement about the women’s tournament by mid-October.