skip navigation

Lonestar Women's Rugby Conference Joins National Collegiate Rugby

By National Collegiate Rugby, 06/23/22, 9:00AM EDT



22 June —The Lonestar Women’s Collegiate Rugby Conference becomes the latest conference to join National Collegiate Rugby. The Lonestar Conference spans Texas and Oklahoma, and includes the following teams:

  • Angelo State University
  • Baylor University
  • LeTourneau University
  • Oklahoma University
  • Sam Houston State University
  • Southern Nazarene University
  • Texas Tech University
  • Texas A&M University
  • Texas State University
  • University of Houston
  • University of North Texas
  • University of Texas - Austin
  • University of Texas - San Antonio

Chris Botto, Head Coach for LeTourneau University, will serve as the Commissioner for the Lonestar Women’s Conference. Botto said, “We are excited to join NCR for the robust rugby opportunities the organization provides for college women along with NCR’s undeniable emphasis on community, family, and growth. It is an exciting time to be part of women’s rugby in our region, and NCR is at the forefront of waking the sleeping giant through promotion at the college ranks.”

Along with the Big 10, Lonestar is the second major conference to move to NCR this year. With these additional conferences, NCR will introduce both a Division I and Division II postseason pathway for all members. With over 200 member clubs, NCR now includes over 60% of non-NCAA rugby nationwide. 

Texas Small Colleges previously competed in NSCRO 7s National Championships and All Star 7s competitions in Florida, which Botto coached. In 2022, the Lonestar Conference competed in the expanded Division I All Star Tournament and won the title in front of a home crowd in Houston led by University of Texas Coach, Kris Karsten. Karsten then led UT to third place in the Division I Club championships at the 2022 CRC. 

In total, the NCR women’s competition includes over 200 teams and has experienced significant growth over the past three years as NCR has made investments to strengthen marketing, expand its championship pathways and all-star programming, and grow its staffing structure. 

Angela Smarto, NCR Women’s Director, said: "I can’t wait to work with Chris Botto, and the rest of the Lonestar teams to put their programs on the platform they deserve. The teams have proven they belong on a national stage, and I'm excited to see how they fit into our expanded competition." 


About National Collegiate Rugby (NCR)

National Collegiate Rugby is the largest collegiate rugby organization with over 600 men's and women's teams. Evolving from the National Small College Rugby Organization, which was founded in 2007, NCR now serves small colleges, Division II and Division I programs. NCR's sole focus is the growth and development of college rugby through a range of competitions, championship pathways, member services and governance. For more information, visit


About the Lonestar Women’s Collegiate Rugby Conference 

The Lonestar Women’s Collegiate Rugby Conference is a National Collegiate Rugby conference and includes teams across multiple divisions. The thirteen member schools span the states of Texas and Oklahoma, including: Angelo State University, Baylor University, LeTourneau University, Oklahoma University, Sam Houston State University, Southern Nazarene University, Texas Tech University, Texas A&M University, Texas State University, University of Houston, University of North Texas, University of Texas - Austin and the University of Texas - San Antonio.


NCR Media Contact:

Wade Smith


Lonestar Women’s CRC Media Contact:

Chris Botto