skip navigation

Full Playoff Schedule for the Rugby National Championships

By National Collegiate Rugby, 09/18/22, 8:15PM EDT


19 September—National Collegiate Rugby’s (NCR) has confirmed the “Road to Houston” for all men’s and women’s teams competing in the national playoffs. In mid-November, the national playoffs commence in cities across the country.

As previously announced, both the men’s and women’s national championship weekends will be held at the Houston Sabercats' AVEVA Stadium. The women’s championship will be held on December 3-4, while the men will host a three-day championship tournament on December 9-11.

The Road to Houston - Women

The Women’s Division II and Small College brackets will each feature 16 teams, all of which will compete for a trip to Houston over the weekend of November 12-13. The teams will compete in both the round of 16 and quarterfinal matches at four regional host cities including Culpepper, Virginia; Elkhart, Indiana; and, Wayne, Nebraska.

The Women’s Division I playoffs start with quarterfinals on November 18 and semifinals on November 20 with only the two national finalists traveling to the national championships. The playoff matches will be held in St. Louis, Missouri and Reading, Pennsylvania.

Prior to the national playoffs, the Women’s Competition Committees may schedule play-in opportunities to supplement the automatic qualification pathways.

The Road to Houston - Men

The men’s Small College and Division II playoffs get started over the weekend of November 18-20. spanning six cities across the country, each 16-team field will compete for a regional title and trip to Houston.

The men’s Division I and Division I-AA playoffs will be single-match weekends with the quarterfinals held at the highest seed’s home field or a neutral site on November 19. Penn State-Berks will host the national semifinals for both divisions on December 3.

As appropriate, the Men’s Competition Committees will schedule play-in opportunities across all divisions to supplement the automatic qualification pathways. All play-in matches will be held on November 12.


About National Collegiate Rugby

National Collegiate Rugby is the largest collegiate rugby organization with over 600 men's and women's teams. Evolving from the National Small College Rugby Organization, which was founded in 2007, NCR serves small colleges, Division II and Division I programs. NCR's sole focus is the growth and development of college rugby through a range of competitions and championship pathways, member services and governance.


Media Contact:

Wade Smith